Writing & Transcribing

I realize I have been absent for some time –I have no excuse other than that I’ve been fighting a serious cold and am just coming out of what is probably one of the most stressful periods of my semester. The main reason I’m writing today, on a Tuesday, is that I don’t want any more time to go by without a post.

I’ve been transcribing lately, and finishing up the article that I am about to submit for publication. I had some conundrums about what venue I was going to submit the article to, but I finally decided on an outlet. The journal’s 75% rejection rate scares me a bit, but the review process appears to be speedy and I appreciated the editor’s efficiency and quick responses to my queries. So, I hope to submit the article within the next couple of days. Meantime, I’m letting the book simmer while I focus on transcribing, which has so far been a very pleasurable experience –I got the Olympus AS 2400 transcription kit, which is working smoothly with my Apple OS -the only drawback is that my recording, which I created using the iPad Notability app, are all in m4a format, which means that I had convert my files to aiff. I’m not super tech-savy so that experience has not been without hiccups. Nevertheless, I have to say that transcribing with a pedal is infinitely easier than transcribing without one, and I am kind of kicking myself for not having acquired one of these nifty little tools years ago. Even so, I think that after I submit my article I am going to have to devote some serious time to transcription, as I still have lots of interviews to transcribe and I’m not making nearly as much headway as I would like.

I also am re-writing my little language and mental health grant, and really kicking my summer research planning into gear.

How on earth did I manage to convince myself I could write a book in twelve months????? Oh well… I guess I’m committed (to myself) at this point…. maybe I need to go back to my carefully drafted writing schedules…

 

Leave a Reply

