Accomplishing nothing, accomplishing everything?

Happy Friday! With the insanity of last week (several important work-related events converging and messing up my mojo), I didn’t create a schedule or even a list of what I wanted to accomplish. I knew I wanted to revise my article based on my friend’s suggestions, but I also wanted to make some progress with the book.

 

I can’t say I wrote a whole lot, but I got an idea about interactions. I discovered our department transcription kits are so outdated that I can’t run them with my computer, so I had to order a new kit that I hope to put to good use next week. Meantime, I read. I read a fascinating article by Cori Hayden on pharmaceutical publics and the Similares pharmacy chain in Mexico, and found a reference to Andrew Lakoff’s Pharmaceutical Reason, which I was unfamiliar with. I have no real excuse for not being familiar with the book, save that I’m so busy that I don’t have time to read everything. BUT, this book, an ethnography of the mundo-psi of Argentina, is great. The subject is fascinating –the globalization of biomedical models of psychiatry and the resulting practices and contestations that take place in Argentina’s heavily psychoanalytic mental health field. It is almost the book I want to write, but set in a very different place. But it’s gotten me thinking about the many hours of observation I have collected, and the insights that those micro-level interactions might bring when subjected to further analysis.

 

Needless to say, I’m feeling pretty good. Even though I’m mostly reading and not doing a whole lot of writing.

Next week –I’m transcribing. Which usually leads to writing :).

See you on the flip side…

Leave a Reply

