Great Expectations

It’s Friday again. I’m not entirely sure how it happened, but I have been so caught up with work that the week flew by and I scarcely noticed it. It was a short week, which is probably why its end has come upon me so abruptly.

I wanted to have a draft done, I really did. I’m very, very close, but I have to accept that it will not be ready to send to my colleague for review today. I also want to stop letting it take over my life. Though I did succeed in working on the book, I felt forced and honestly didn’t really enjoy it –though I am feeling ready to devote more time to it, which is good. It’s funny, but I think this happens to me every time I write an article. Inevitably, I get to a point where I know what I want to say, and I know exactly how to do it, but I’m simply not doing it quickly enough. So I get mad at it. I reach a point where I sort explode and yell at it (I haven’t yelled at this one yet, but I think I might want to soon). I usually yell something along the lines of, “can’t you be done already?!” or “I hate you! I want you out of my life!”

And it’s right about time. As the day ends and I’m sitting here, willing the article to be finished already, I started to feel that frustration. The good thing is, that feeling usually comes a few days before the darn thing finally gets finished. So, if I do what I’m supposed to on Monday and Tuesday, I’m optimistic that I’ll be able to send the article to my friend and put it out of my mind for a few days. And then I can re-focus my energies on the book, and on this chapter that is forming before my very eyes.  In many ways, next week will be a week of research. This week, I’ve focused on ‘writing what I know, not what I don’t know,’ and that has meant writing ethnographically. Next week, I want to do some serious literature review. A skill I’ve learned thanks to Belcher’s book (Chapter 5) is that I can keep writing as I’m reading and researching, that way, the text can keep growing while I research the stuff I didn’t know was relevant until now.

I’m anticipating carrying a nice stack of books from the library, and I’m actually kind of excited by it. Since I’m visualizing 6 chapters, I still have another month to work on the chapter I have, which is helping me manage my irritation with the article.

 

So… my goals for next week will be:

 

Book Article
 

Research anthropological writing on neoliberalism and health.

 

Continue drafting chapter.

 

Get back to coding

 

Finish draft and send to colleague

 

Write and Email Journal queries

 

 

 

 

 

Totally doable, I think.

Except for the fact that my progress evaluation is due a the end of next week (though I have made good progress and expect to finish it this weekend –I know, I know I usually don’t work on weekends, but otherwise I am not going to have time!) and I have a fairly important committee meeting.

 

Wish me luck…

Leave a Reply

